Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 21st, 2009

Per my prior post, TigerDirect tempts me daily. Until today I held firm. But I guess the holiday spirit finally got to me.

For the last month I have had this offer from TigerDirect, a 3-license copy of Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007 for $79.99. That is one heck of a deal. I paid $79.99 for a single license copy, from Best Buy, last year.

Today, I bought it … exploiting TigerDirect’s generous 90-day interest free terms. THANK YOU, TigerDirect.

I have Office 2007 on my Windows 7 machine. I am getting used to it. It is definitely more resilient than Office 2002.

I don’t really need 3 copies right now. But I will hang on to it. Maybe I will give it to those that feel compelled to use pirated copies of it. A Christmas present.

Cheers.

Anura Guruge
www.guruge.com

Read Full Post »

I get tempting offers from TigerDirect on a daily basis. Most of the time I do not succumb. I have an iron will power. I can resist anything but temptation. < smile >

I was going to wait until Christmas to buy two more PCs, one XP and the other with Windows 7. I know that there are going to be some mouth-watering, refurbished deals after the New Year.

But today TigerDirect sucked me in with their Preferred Account. 90 day no interest, 10% off an $100 order. FREE SHIPPING. Seemed CHURLISH to refuse.

So bought this refurbished box. Nothing great, but it will do as a back up for my 6 year old XP box which is running these days in single monitor mode SANS its video card.

The Preferred Account set up worked without a hitch. Really was 2 questions and one click. Well done, TigerDirect.

This was my first purchase from TigerDirect. I will keep you posted.

Cheers.

Anura Guruge
www.guruge.com

Read Full Post »

Pre-release Windows 7 [i.e., RTM] had a number of issues with the invaluable CHKDSK [i.e., Check Disk] utility. So much so that there was even a fear that the release of Windows 7 would have to be delayed because of just the CHKDSK issues.

CHKDSK seems to work.

My issue has to do with INVOKING it against my C: drive; i.e., the System Disk.

CHK DSK can not run against an active System Disk. So it has to be run immediately after start-up. What Windows 7 does is SCHEDULE a CHK DSK run on the next start-up.

Here is the problem. On my rig, it doesn’t do this scheduling right away. There is an inordinate lag, a delay. Then when I try to CANCEL it, it pops up with a message saying can I schedule a CHK DSK at next start-up.

That is not right. Something is amiss.

So just a heads up.

Cheers.

Anura Guruge
www.guruge.com

Read Full Post »